Reviews: Hunt the Wolf

HunttheWolfCover_New

Roars

Hunt the Wolf roars out of the most authentic inspirations in the blood and bayonets commando saga genre, and for lovers of military action fiction, this is a read to have.”

James Grady, author of SIX DAYS OF THE CONDOR 

Here Comes the Mann

by Butch W.

JUST FINISHED READING HUNT THE WOLF—WOW.   WHAT AN EMOTIONAL RIDE, I DID NOT WANT IT TO END.  IF I’M HAVING A BAD DAY, ALL I HAVE TO DO IS THINK ABOUT WHAT CROCKER HAD TO ENDURE.  ALL I CAN SAY IS LOOK OUT VINCE FLYNN AND BRAD THOR—HERE COMES THE MANN.   FANTASTIC JOB.

Adrenaline-packed 

Navy SEAL Team six commando Don Mann infuses his debut military thriller with the real-life details only a true insider can reveal.

(From bookreporter.com) — In the midst of a grueling traning exercise, Thomas Crocker, USN, unearths a pocket of terrorism that leads straight from the slopes of K2 to the cities of Europe and the Middle East. Crocker and his team, who are trained for the most intense kinds of combat in the most extreme environments, must blaze through a perilous web of terrorist cells to track down a ruthless sheikh who is running an international kidnapping ring before his captives pay the ultimate price.

Hunt the Wolf is an adrenaline-packed novel sure to appeal to fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor, featuring the world’s most elite soldiers and based on the experiences of renowned SEAL Team 6 commando Don Mann.

Rocket Fast Read

By C.J. Edwards of Grift Magazine

Ever since Osama bin Laden was killed by members of the shadowy Seal Team Six, the elite unit has attracted a lot of attention. With a number of books and m

ovies either out or on the way, they are getting their share of ink. So who are these guys? How do they do the things they do? What is it like to raid a terrorist compound and kill the bad guy? If anyone can tell you best, it would be Don Mann, a former Seal Team Six operator. Mann and veteran author Ralph Pezullo pack one hell of a punch with Hunt The Wolf (Mullholland, 320 p.).

The book opens with a violent attack on an American Embassy that will raise the blood pressure of anyone who bleeds red white and blue. Enter Thomas Crocker and his merry band of hell-raising ass-kickers. Crocker is a no-nonsense, get shit done kind of guy who drives himself and his men hard. An extreme sport enthusiast, Crocker takes his men on a training climb on the slopes of K2. While battling the elements, Crocker stumbles upon information that will put him back on the trail of a bin Laden-style monster.

From K2, Crocker locks onto his mission with a vengeance, leaving a trail of pissed off bureaucrats and red-tape junkies in his wake. By the end, I had my fill of run and gun action in a variety of locales, including the Middle East, Europe, and one of the harshest mountains on the planet.  

What I found most interesting about Hunt The Wolf was its focus on the main character’s thoughts and emotions as he battles Islamic extremists, the elements, and himself. We all know that men like Crocker exist and are thankful for them, but how often do we really think of the price they pay as they keep us safe at night? Crocker is a hard man, but even the hardest of men take on wounds, both physical and mental, doing what very few are able to do. Crocker’s inner struggle takes on a real and honest quality within the novel, and I attribute this to the fact that Mann is the real deal. He knows exactly what is going on inside the head of Thomas Crocker because he’s been there and done that. We should all be glad that these men exist, but even more thankful that they are human as well.

Another thing about the book I appreciated was that it didn’t paint all people of Middle Eastern descent as demons. Yes, there a lot of stock Islamic bad guys, but Mann gives us a portrait of the Islamic nations and people who fight extremist terrorists alongside us and the problems they face as well. In fact, corruption and red tape looks the same in any nation, including the United States. Thomas Crocker battles them all equally with determination and passion.

Hunt The Wolf was a rocket fast read, and is true to its promise of entertaining the readers of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor. By the end, I wanted more, more guns, 

more explosions, and more dead terrorists. I want more and so will you. 

Authenticity 

Review by David Ingram for Suspense Magazine

In the new battle order against terrorists, the forward forces are special ops groups, especially the Navy’s Sea, Air and Land (SEAL) teams. Don Mann knows that world intimately. As a Chief Warrant Officer 3—a specialist rank above sergeant—he was an advanced training officer for SEAL Team 6. Along with is co-author Ralph Pezzullo, Mann wrote the bestselling non-fiction memoir “Inside Seal Team 6,” and this summer they’ll publish a second non-fiction volume, “The Navy SEAL Survival Handbook.”

Mr. Mann brings that expertise to fiction with “Hunt the Wolf.” To CWO Thomas Crocker, a SEAL Team 6 unit leader, people are either sheep or wolves. His purpose is to protect the sheep by hunting the wolves. His unit is assigned to get Abu Rasul Zaman, a high-ranking al-Qaeda terrorist who’s responsible for a deadly car bomb attack on the U.S. Embassy in Morocco. Zaman has been traced to an apartment building in Karachi, Pakistan. The team enters Pakistan under the guise of mountain climbers attempting to climb K2. When they attack the apartment, Zaman manages to escape, but the SEALs do capture computers that provide a lead that sends them off in an unexpected direction.

A young woman named Malie Tingvoll has been kidnapped in Norway. As a representative of Norwegian Intelligence explains to Crocker, it is the latest in a string of abductions that are tied to a Middle-Eastern man by the name of Cyrus. The intelligence his team recovered provides a link between Zaman and Cyrus.

To save Malie and take out Zaman and Cyrus, Crocker and his team must race from the slopes of K2 to a farmhouse outside Marseille and on through Pakistan and Oman. They also discover and must stop a terrorist plot that could cripple the world economy.

Mann’s sparse prose keeps the story crackling and he imbues the novel with authenticity thanks to his thirty years of service. His is a new voice in the genre tha

t I’m sure we’ll hear from again.

A+

(from Shakefire.com), submitted by AJ Garcia

Genre: Fiction

Publisher: Mulholland Books

Pages: 320

Release Date: June 26, 2012

Rating: 4.50 (out of 4.00)

GRADE: A+

Official Site

Seal Team Six leader Thomas Crocker is leading his men on a mission to track down and capture a known terrorist named Abu Rasul Zaman. Unfortunately they miss their chance, but through intersecting missions Crocker and his men might find themselves given a second chance at apprehending Zaman, but at a price. Along the way his team will have to intercept a ring of human traffickers and rescue a young woman. Their mission will take them all over the globe and to the brink, but they wont rest until they‘ve busted up the ring and possibly discovered how their man Zaman is involved. The question is, who will end up paying for this second chance?

Don Mann and Ralph Pezzullo do an excellent job in fleshing out Crocker and his men, their enemies, and seemingly play by play events that unfold as the 

story progresses. The action is extremely brutal and complete with coarse language. Little things like pausing to explain what certain military terms mean or going in depth with detail on the severity of inflicted pain, states of euphoria, and even some fleshed out experiences of PTSD put you right into the mix. In no time at all your best friends with the team and feeling the thrill of their camaraderie in both good times and dangerous times putting you on edge as they find themselves constantly facing dangers natural and of human origin, and there are a lot of those moments.  

What made this novel so complete and hard to put down for me is the fact that it never really stays on a steady course. Its level of realism as the team shifts from mission to mission, location to location, gives you a sense of change that sometimes does not occur in some novels causing the experience to become stale. Crocker and his team find themselves in the Middle East, high in snow covered mountains, out at sea, and every so often thinking of home. There’s really never a moment when you feel like your standing still. Crocker  and his men are a force that keeps moving forward no matter how many bureaucratic suits get in their way, no matter how outnumbered they are, and no matter how distressed their physical and mental states become. It’s due to this that there is never a boring moment. You will literally burn your way through this book in a matter of hours. It’s that good.

Book really packs a punch!

By Alex Gordon of the UK’s Peterborough Telegraph

  THIS red-blooded thriller comes from the American equivalent of Andy McNab or Chris Ryan. As a member of the renowned US Navy SEAL Team 6, former commando Mann walked the walk. 

Writing with co-author Ralph Pezzullo, Mann packs in as much explosive action as his readers can handle, fused with ‘been there, done that, know-how’ on weapons and assault missions. Team leader Tom Crocker, who leads his young crew from the front, reminds me of Mark Harmon’s character Gibbs in hit TV series NCIS. After a horrific bomb attack on the US Embassy in Morocco, Crocker’s team race across the globe hunting for al-Qaeda terror chief Abu Rasal Zaman, who they suspect is planning a major attack against the West. Meanwhile Crocker has been asked by the Norwegian government to track down people smugglers who are kidnapping young girls on behalf of a ruthless Arab sheikh, and both missions intersect in Oman when Crocker’s team risk their lives to stop a tanker packed with explosives blowing up the world’s most important oil terminal in the Persian Gulf. A wham-bam read. 

Full of action and suspense

by Jo of www.theiemommy.com

Hunt the Wolf by Don Mann is not my usual genre to read, but I knew that my husband was a HUGE fan of the Seal Team Six novels and I wanted to check it out.

The novel is about a team of Navy Seals led by Thomas Crocker who are commissioned to fight terrorism internationally. The team was headed to training, but end up finding a terrorist that they have to take out. The terrorist manages to get away and they find themselves involved in another situation involving human smuggling.

Hunt the Wolf was an incredible novel full of action, and suspense. From the Middle East to Europe and even to the slopes of K2, you are immersed in imagery as these Seal Team Six commandos engage in intense gun battles and covert operations against a myriad of inter-weaved terrorist cells. You are made to feel as if you are crouching in the shadows with this elite team, SIG Sauer, at the ready and enemies in your sights as they blaze across multiple countries hunting down an elusive high level terrorist chief and a well connected sheik while rescuing captives in an international human smuggling ring.

I quickly understood why my husband proudly owns every copy in the Seal Team Six collection. The suspense and pace of the story made for a page turner that I could not put down until I had finished and left me ready for the next book.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6